Hertsmere Labour Party members have nominated Sir Kier Starmer for leadership of the Labour Party.

He secured more than 50% of the votes after Rebecca Long-Bailey and Emily Thornbury were eliminated in the first round, leaving Lisa Nandy as runner up.

Sir Kier, who is MP for Holborn and Kings Cross is the Shadow Minister for Brexit, is already through to the final stage of the election having been backed by Unison and the Socialist Environmental and Resources Association and 28 other Constituency Labour Parties.

For the Deputy Leadership, Angela Rayner, the popular Shadow Education Secretary, was the winner in the first ballot, leaving behind rivals Rosena Allin Khan, Richard Burgon, Dawn Butler and Ian Murray.

Acting Chair, Ann Harrison said: “We are absolutely delighted to announce that members voted for Kier Starmer as our Leadership nominee and Angela Rayner as our Deputy Leadership nominee and we wish them the very best in the contest.”

Ballots for individual Labour Party members and those who are members of affiliated organisations and unions open in a month’s time and winners will be announced at a special conference on 4 April.

Kier Starmer and Angela Rayner: Both nominated by Hertsmere Labour
Kier Starmer and Angela Rayner: Both nominated by Hertsmere Labour
Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search